Why I shouldn’t have

Right when I choose to stretch out my hand,
You choose to let go
And the walls that had crumbled
Suddenly found their way up again.
And the scars that seemed to disappear,
Now burned with roots so deep!

I lay here thinking of the could haves and have nots…
Caught in between hurt and anger,
Emotions felt towards none other than myself
For allowing myself to believe, to want, to care…
Hope is a dreadful poison that can sway us all
Desire is a blinding side effect.

Guards not built by insecurities but of realities and truths…
Always good enough for one thing but not for another
Always great at this but never great at that.

Just as I reached out…I remembered why I shouldn’t have!

Leave a Reply

