These Four Walls

Me and these four walls
We have built a bond like no other
I have cried and laughed
I have screamed and danced
In these four walls
I prayed for clarity
I have begged for forgiveness
In these four walls
I have lost my faith
I have gained my confidence
In these four walls
I know it’s me against the world
I am clear where my bearings lie
In these four walls
I can mourn the loss of a friend
I can celebrate the desire of a lover
In these four walls
No one is quick to judge
No one is quick to assume
In these four walls
I am a friend
I am a foe
In these four walls
Dreams are spoken
Nightmares are released in tears
In these four walls
I am reminded that I am a soldier
Battling against my own demons
And that of others
In these four walls
I am taught that my shield is invisible and invincible
I am lost with hope of tomorrow
I am haunted with yesterdays
In these four walls
I can be
Just be …
In these four walls
I can listen to silence while it speaks to me

Leave a Reply

