Silence 

Sitting in silence 

Listening to memories 

Building my tomorrow 


Seems like life has gotten in the way of who I was meant to be 

With each struggle taking me two steps further away then where I am supposed to be 

I have walked and crawled to get right here where I am today 

I have cried in silence and screamed for the world to hear 

I have scratched and dug my way out of dark holes …alone 

With no hand to hold 

With no shoulder to lean on 


Build a wall so high and strong 

No one could get thru

Because I had me to take care of 

Because for all the caring and holding and helping I have done 

I stand alone 

I walk alone 


I must admit that use to bother me 

But today I realize that’s just how it has to be 

I do me …I create my own rules, I write my own story, I dance to my own rhythms 


No one has any idea the sacrifices made to be able to stand here 

No one sees the scars and bruises that have healed and reopened yet to heal again over the years 


I am a little deeper then the first time 

I have more substance than the smiles and tough side 

There is a story for every look for every laugh for every wrinkle 


So I sit in silence 

Listening to memories 

Building my tomorrow 

Leave a Reply

